ORDINANCE NO. 20

MONONA COUNTY ORDINANCE ESTABLISHING VOTING PRECINCTS

WHEREAS, Resolution 2005-28 has been adopted to authorize proceeding with changes to the voting precincts within Monona County in accordance with Iowa Code 49.8 (6) providing an exception to make changes in the voting precinct boundaries prior to the next federal decennial census if the County Commissioner of Elections recommends and the Board of Supervisors finds that the change will effect a substantial savings in election costs; and

WHEREAS, the County Board of Supervisors are mandated to purchase new voting equipment to comply with the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) which causes a significant implementation cost to the County;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT HEREBY ORDAINED by the Monona County Board of Supervisors that the following precincts and boundaries of each are hereby established:

1 - ASHTON - BELVIDERE - KENNEBEC - LINCOLN - TURIN

All of the area included within the boundaries of Ashton, Belvidere, Kennebec and Lincoln Townships including the corporate limits of the City of Turin, Iowa.

2 - CENTER - JORDAN - CASTANA

All of the area included within the boundaries of Center and Jordan Townships including the corporate limits of the City of Castana, Iowa.

3 - COOPER - MAPLE - MAPLETON

All of the area included within the boundaries of Cooper and Maple Townships including the corporate limits of the City of Mapleton.

4 - FAIRVIEW - GRANT - LAKE - WEST FORK - RODNEY - WHITING

All of the area included within the boundaries of Fairview, Grant, Lake and West Fork Townships, including the corporate limits of the Cities of Rodney and Whiting.

5 – FRANKLIN S.E. PORTION – SHERMAN – SIOUX – BLENCOE

All of the area included within the boundaries of Sherman and Sioux Townships and the portion of Franklin Township lying south of 240th Street and east of County Hwy K-45, including the corporate limits of the City of Blencoe.

6 - ONAWA - WARD I - N.W. PORTION OF FRANKLIN

All of the area included within the boundaries described as follows: Portion of Franklin Township lying north of 240th Street and West of County Hwy K-45 and including the portion of the corporate limits of the City of Onawa – within Ward One (1).

10 - ST. CLAIR - UTE

All of the area included within the boundaries of St. Clair Township including the corporate limits of the City of Ute, Iowa.

11 - SOLDIER - SPRING VALLEY - WILLOW - MOORHEAD - SOLDIER

All of the area included within the boundaries of Soldier, Spring Valley and Willow Townships including the corporate limits of the Cities of Moorhead and Soldier.

BE IT FURTHER ORDAINED that the lands within the boundaries of the incorporated Cities of Onawa for Wards Two, Three and Four are excluded from the above described Township Election Precincts.

Vote on mot	ion:	
	Ayes:	Nays:
	ce shall be in effect after June 16 th , ion as provided by law.	2005 and upon its final passage, approval
PASSED AN	ND APPROVED this 7 th of June, 20	005.
		Dishard C. Marrin, Co. Chairman
		Richard C. Merritt, Sr., Chairman Monona County Board of Supervisors
		Supervisor
		Supervisor
ATTEST:		
	Benita J. Davis Monona County Auditor	